If you get caught driving without Louisiana auto insurance coverage in place, you will be facing several penalties. These range from fines to impoundment of your vehicle. If you are injured in an accident while uninsured, your ability to collect damages for your injuries is affected.
Drivers in Louisiana are required to carry proof of insurance in their vehicles at all times. If you are stopped by a police officer or involved in an accident and cannot produce your insurance card, you will be required to pay a fine. The amount varies from $75-100 for a first offense to $100-$250 for a second one. Getting caught without insurance coverage a third time (or more) means you will be required to pay a $700 fine.
You will also either have your vehicle impounded immediately or your plates will be removed. A yellow sticker will be applied to the back windshield of your vehicle and you will have three days to provide proof of insurance to the Office of Motor Vehicles. If you are stopped again after the three-day period has passed and you don’t have insurance coverage, the vehicle will be impounded.
Uninsured motorists are also subject to the “No Pay, No Play” law. They are not entitled to collect the first $10,000 in personal injury or property damage claims that would otherwise be payable after the accident.