The most important part of your auto insurance coverage is the medical component. In the event of an accident, you want to know that all the human beings involved will have their hospital and treatment charges paid for by your auto insurance company. Once you understand what your current policy covers, you may want to fill out a quick quote form to get instant access to better rates on your auto insurance that may give you more coverage for less.
How Am I Covered In Auto Accidents?
In most states, something called “MedPay” will make sure that you and your passengers have medical coverage. MedPay covers you if…
- You are driving your vehicle and someone else hits you.
- You are driving your vehicle and cause an accident.
- You are driving someone else’s vehicle and are involved in an accident, regardless of fault.
Your passengers will also be covered under MedPay.
What Kind of Extended Coverage Is Available?
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) is considered extended coverage in all but 16 states (Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Hawaii, Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, North Dakota, Oregon, Pennsylvania, and Utah) — where it is considered mandatory.
PIP auto insurance will make sure you and your passengers are reimbursed for…
- Medical Expenses
- Lost Wages
- Child Care
- Home / Property Damage.
How Are People In The Other Car Covered In Accidents?
While we all carry our own insurance, there is also something called Liability insurance that will cover…
- Injuries for under-insured motorists in the other car (if the accident was your fault)
- Injuries to passengers in the other car (if you are at fault)
- Injuries to pedestrians you may have hit.
Liability insurance is usually required or offered in every state (except New Hampshire), but the exact amount mandated by law varies from state to state. For instance, in Florida, you can opt for $10,000 in liability for up to two people for a total of $20,000 in coverage per accident — and property damage coverage is $5,000. However, in Ohio, you must have at least $12,500 per person injured (up to $25,000 total) and $7,500 in property damage coverage.