Washington Minimum Auto Insurance Coverage Amounts

Car insurance customers in Washington must buy third party liability coverage to comply with the state’s financial responsibility legislation. This type of insurance pays for claims for personal injuries and property damage made by the occupants of the other vehicle when an at-fault accident occurs.

The minimum level of bodily injury coverage required by law is $25,000 to pay for medical bills and related expenses of a single accident victim. This part of the policy also pays for funeral expenses if the accident results in one or more fatalities. A minimum of $50,000 must be put in place to pay for all injuries stemming from the same event.

Property damage liability coverage is also required by law. It pays for the cost of repairs to the other driver’s vehicle, as well as any public property damaged in the accident. In this situation, public property refers to buildings, fences, sign posts, light stands and mailboxes.

A driver can buy a policy with a higher policy limit, and it’s a good idea to buy as much car insurance as one can afford. In the case of a serious accident, a policy which only offers the minimum level of coverage may not be enough to pay for damages caused in an accident. Once the policy limit has been reached, the at-fault driver is responsible for paying for any additional damages personally. Buying a policy with a higher limit will protect the driver’s assets.