Washington auto insurance buyers have the option of buying a basic policy with a limited level of protection if they wish. Under state law, drivers must have a minimum of $25,000 in third party liability protection to pay for injuries and damages sustained by a single accident victim. At least $50,000 in liability insurance must be bought to pay for all injuries and damages of the occupants of the other vehicle in an at-fault accident.
Property damage liability coverage is also required under Washington state law. Consumers must buy at least $10,000 in coverage to pay for repairs to the other vehicle, as well as any public property damaged or destroyed in the accident. Public property includes items such as guard rails, fences, sheds, sign posts and mail boxes.
The occupants of the other vehicle cannot make a claim for the cost to repair or replace personal property damaged in the accident. They would have to submit a claim for this type of loss through their homeowner’s policy.
Washington auto insurance buyers must carry proof of coverage in their vehicles at all times. The insurance card must include the following information:
- policy number
- name of insurance provider
- effective date of coverage
- expiry date of coverage
- make and model of the vehicle
- name of insured driver
A driver who has purchased a Washington basic auto insurance policy online will be able to print off a temporary card which should be placed in the vehicle until the insurance policy documents and card arrive.