The cost of insurance premiums in Washington has risen by approximately 23% over the last year. Many of these soaring costs are the result of drivers having accidents without the minimum level of auto insurance coverage. This ultimately costs the insurance companies money and inevitably, these losses are eventually passed on to legitimate premium holders.
If your vehicle is registered in Washington or is required to be registered under Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 46.16, you must have the following level of auto insurance coverage before taking to the road:
- $25,000 worth of bodily injury liability per person in any one single accident.
- $50,000 of bodily injury liability per accident to cover injuries sustained to two persons or more
- $10,000 of cover for destruction of property in any one accident
Drivers are required by law to carry their proof of insurance with them at all times, either on their person on in the vehicle. This is often provided by insurance carriers in the form of a small plastic card that can sit inside the glove compartment of the insured vehicle.
Washington State allows for owners of 26 vehicles or more to claim ‘self-insurance’. While this is permitted, it is important to remember that certain terms and conditions apply. Further information on auto insurance in Washington can be found on the State Department of Licensing website.
Out-Of-State drivers coming into or driving through Washington are also required to have adequate cover. Most insurance policies include what is known as a ‘broadening’ scheme which will temporarily cover them when visiting a State with different minimum requirements.