Like most parts of the United States, Washington has passed laws requiring all drivers to buy car insurance. The minimum level of bodily injury liability insurance for a single person injured in an accident is $25,000, and $50,000 for multiple victims in the same car accident.
Along with the bodily injury liability coverage, $10,000 is the minimum amount of property damage insurance required. This part of your policy will pay for repairs to the other driver’s vehicle, as well as to any other property damaged in the accident. If a sign post or mailbox was hit, then the property damage insurance would kick in to pay to repair or replace them. It also pays for damage to fences, sheds, or buildings.
Washington does not require drivers to buy uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. Even though you may not be legally required to buy it, you may want to consider adding this protection to your insurance policy. If you were injured in an accident and the at-fault driver didn’t have insurance, your policy would compensate you for your injuries.
Underinsured driver coverage is a way to top up the coverage if the at fault driver doesn’t have enough insurance to pay for your medical bills, lost wages and expenses incurred following the accident. The other driver’s policy pays out first, and then your coverage would pay the balance, up to the limit you choose.