Becoming familiar with general auto insurance information will help Vermont consumers find the right type and level of protection for their needs. In this tort state, drivers must have third party liability coverage in place to pay for the injuries and physical damages they cause in an accident. Bodily injury liability insurance pays for medical bills incurred by the occupants of the other vehicle. It also pays out a certain amount for funeral expenses, if the accident is a fatal one. The minimum amount of this type of protection required by law is $25,000 to pay for one victim’s injuries and $50,000 to compensate all victims of the same accident.
Property damage liability coverage to pay for repairs to the other vehicle and any public property damaged in the accident. At least $10,000 must be purchased.
Under state law, uninsured/uninsured motorist coverage is also required. The minimum amount for this type of coverage is $50,000 for a single accident victim and $100,000 to compensate all people injured in the same accident. This coverage comes into play when the at-fault driver does not have insurance or does not have enough coverage to pay for the damages caused. Uninsured motorist property damage of at least $10,000 is also required by law.
Drivers in VT can choose to buy a higher level of protection that what is required by law if they wish. Since Vermont is a tort state, an at-fault driver can be sued by accident victims to collect damages and being underinsured is not a good scenario.