Vermont auto insurance customers must buy at least the minimum level of coverage mandated by the state in order to stay legal. VT is a tort state for car insurance purposes, which means that people who have been injured in an accident have the right to sue to collect damages from the driver who was at fault.
Bodily injury liability insurance coverage is put in place to pay claims being made by the occupants of the other vehicle involved in an accident. The minimum level of car insurance in VT is $25,000 for injuries sustained by one person injured in an accident and $50,000 to pay for all injuries stemming from the same incident. A driver can choose to buy a policy with a higher limit if he or she wishes to do so, and this is a good idea. If the accident is serious enough to exhaust the available coverage, the at-fault driver is responsible for making up the difference personally.
Property damage liability insurance is also required under VT law. This is the part of the policy that pays for the cost of repairs to the other driver’s car. It also pays for the cost of repairing public property damaged in the accident, such as mail boxes, sign posts and light stands.
To get the best rates on Vermont auto insurance minimum coverage, make a point of shopping around to compare rates from different providers.