USA

Vermont and Virginia Auto Insurance Liability Laws

Vermont and Virginia have passed laws governing auto insurance for drivers and the minimum level of coverage they need to have in place. In VT, all drivers are required to have liability coverage in place; VA auto insurance buyers can opt out of buying coverage by paying a fee to the Department of Motor Vehicles if they wish.

Vermont Auto Insurance Minimum Requirements

Vermont drivers must have the following coverage in place to comply with state laws:

  • $25,000 in bodily injury liability coverage to pay for injuries or death of a single accident victim and $50,000 to compensate two or more victims of the same accident
  • $10,000 in property damage insurance to cover the cost of repairs to the other driver’s vehicle, as well as public property damaged in the occurrence

Virginia Auto Insurance Minimum Requirements

In Virginia, a driver has the option of paying a $500 fee to the Department of Motor Vehicles to get a license plate or a decal. Consumers who choose this option do so on the understanding that they are do not haveĀ  liability coverage and are operating the vehicle at their own risk. Drivers who buy auto insurance in VA must have the following minimum level of coverage in place to comply with state laws:

  • $25,000 in bodily injury liability coverage to pay for injuries or death of one person
  • $50,000 in bodily injury liability insurance to compensate two or more victims of the same accident
  • $20,000 in property damage liability protection

 

Similar Posts