Vermont and Virginia are both tort states for car insurance purposes. A person who has been injured in a car accident has the right to sue to collect damages from the at-fault driver in the accident. Each state sets the minimum level of third party liability insurance that policyholders must have in place, but drivers always have the option of buying a policy with a higher limit if they wish. Choosing a policy with a higher limit provides more protection if the policyholder is involved in an at-fault accident. If the level of damages caused is higher than the amount of coverage available, the at-fault driver must pay this amount personally.
The minimum level of bodily injury liability coverage required by law in Vermont and Virginia is $25,000 to pay for the injuries or death of one person and $50,000 to pay for the injuries or death of two or more accident victims.
Property damage liability protection is also a legal requirement in both states, but the minimum level of coverage that drivers must have in place to stay legal varies. In Vermont, at least $10,000 in coverage must be purchased and the minimum in Virginia is $20,000. This coverage is used to pay for the cost of repairs to the other driver’s vehicle. It also pays for the cost to repair or replace public property damaged or destroyed in the accident, including sidewalks, fences, buildings, sign posts and mailboxes.