Utah auto insurance laws require all vehicles to be adequately covered. It is a minimum requirement in most States that every driver has liability insurance coverage in case they collide with another driver.
Utah has strict laws on their minimum coverage requirements and any driver failing to carry the correct amount of coverage will receive a class B misdemeanor. This could incur a loss of driving privileges and a $400 fine.The minimum amount of liability insurance coverage is as follows:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury
- $65,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $3,000 personal injury protection (PIP)
- $15,000 per accident for property damage
Failing to insure a vehicle in the state of Utah is a Class B misdemeanor.
Utah operates under the ‘No Fault’ system. This effectively alleviates responsibility in most road traffic accidents because each driver will be paid out by their own insurance company. This system makes it illegal to drive a motor vehicle in Utah without adequate insurance cover. Additionally, a motorist must not permit others to drive their vehicle without sufficient insurance.
Coverage against uninsured or underinsured motorists is not an obligatory requirement in the state of Utah. Even so, many drivers choose to take out this type of insurance add-on as a means of protecting themselves against other motorists who only insure themselves to the absolute minimum level. The importance of insurance add-ons should always be considered although insurers are legally obliged to offer protection against uninsured or underinsured drivers when selling a policy.
Utah Personal Injury Protection Coverage Basics
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage protects you and the people in your vehicle. It pays for “reasonable and necessary expenses” incurred following a motor vehicle accident. This coverage follows you and your family members, and covers you if you are traveling in your own or someone else’s vehicle or if you are hit by a car while walking.
Following a car accident, you may have to pay for medical bills for Emergency Room care, treatment on an outpatient basis, a hospital stay or surgery. You may be off work for a time while you recover from your injuries.
In Utah, basic PIP coverage provides the following benefits:
- Medical expenses of up to $3,000 per person
- Payment for essential services for up to 365 days ($20 daily limit)
- Compensation for loss of income of up to $250 per week for a total of 52 weeks (85 percent of income)
- Funeral expenses of $1,500 per person (includes cremation or burial expenses)
- Survivor’s loss benefit of $3,000
Car insurance customers must buy at least the basic level of coverage, but they always have the option to purchase a higher level of protection if they wish. A person who has limited benefits available through their health insurance plan may want to consider adding to the basic PIP benefits plan.
Is Utah a No-fault State for Car Insurance?
Utah has adopted a no-fault car insurance system. When an accident occurs, an injured person would make a claim to his or her own insurer for compensation. All drivers must buy Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage to pay for their healthcare expenses and lost wages after an accident. This policy also pays for funeral expenses, if necessary.
A person who has a good personal health plan may choose to buy the minimum level of PIP required by law. Individuals who have limited healthcare protection in place may want to buy a PIP plan with a higher level of coverage.
Even though Utah is a no-fault state for car insurance purposes, all drivers must have liability insurance coverage in place. In a situation where the injured person’s damages meet the threshold where they can sue for compensation, the at-fault driver’s liability insurance coverage will pay for the damages.
If the at-fault driver’s coverage is not high enough to fully compensate the injured person, then he or she is personally responsible for any additional amount owing. It’s important to consider the level of coverage needed before buying a policy.
Buying only the minimum level of car insurance coverage required by the state means that a driver is “legal” but it may not be enough if he or she causes a serious accident.
Utah Auto Insurance for Seniors
Older drivers can be some of the safest people on the road, and Utah auto insurance companies are well aware of this fact. A person who applies for car insurance coverage cannot be denied a policy solely based on his or her age. Once a senior reaches a certain age, he or she may be required to undergo a medical exam to keep their driver’s license in force. As long as the individual has a valid driver’s license, he or she can get insurance.
Many seniors are living on a fixed income, and keeping expenses for their car insurance down is important to them. There are things they can do to get cheap Utah auto insurance coverage, though. Insurance companies do offer a low mileage discount. An older adult may be doing less driving after retirement since they will no longer be driving back and forth to work each day, they would qualify for lower rates based on this fact.
It’s a good idea for seniors to evaluate their coverage annually to make sure they have the right type and level of car insurance in place. If they are driving an older vehicle that would have a limited cash value, they may wish to consider dropping the collision coverage on the vehicle and keeping fire and theft protection only on it.
Utah Car Insurance: Collision and Comprehensive Coverage Explained
When it comes to your Utah car insurance coverage, do you know the difference between collision and comprehensive coverage? You can choose to buy one or both types to protect your car. If you took out a loan to pay for your vehicle, the financing company will likely insist that you have both types of protection in place.
Collision coverage pays out if your car strikes another car or a stationary object and is damages or totaled in the accident. If your car is a write-off, your insurance company will pay out based on the cash value of the vehicle at the time of the accident – not its replacement value. The collision portion of your car insurance also pays for damages if your car is involved in a rollover accident or if it is struck while parked.
Comprehensive car insurance coverage covers losses caused by other types of events, such as:
- Collision with an animal
- Falling objects
- Glass breaking
When you make a claim against either one of these types of insurance coverage, you will be required to pay your deductible before the company will write you a check. In a case where the car is stolen and not recovered or is a write-off following an accident, your deductible will be deducted from the settlement you receive.
Factors that Affect Utah Auto Insurance Rates
When Utah auto insurance companies are setting rates for customers, they consider a number of factors. Before an insurance provider quotes a price to a customer, it must determine the level of risk that a particular driver presents. People who have been determined to be a low risk for auto insurance purposes get better rates than high risk drivers.
One way that an applicant can demonstrate that he or she is a low risk for car insurance purposes is by maintaining a clean driving record. Insurance companies look at a person’s past behavior as a way to anticipate future events, and a person who has been involved in accident or who has moving violations against his or her record will be considered a higher risk when it comes to Utah auto insurance coverage.
The insurance company also considers the make and model of the car to be insured when setting rates. Some cars cost more to cover because they are more expensive to repair or are more likely to be targeted by thieves. Others are more pricey to cover due to the fact that they are more likely to cause damage to other vehicles, such as SUVs. Customers who are driving vehicles equipped with safety devices like airbags and anti-lock brakes can qualify for lower rates for their coverage since they present a lower risk to the insurance providers.
How to Get Cheap Utah Auto Insurance Coverage
If you want to get the best possible pricing on your Utah auto insurance coverage, maintaining a clean driving record is very important. This is the most important factor that a car insurance company considers when you apply for coverage. Having a record that includes accidents and/or moving violations means that you are a riskier person to insure, and you will be paying higher premium rates as a result.
The insurance company also considers some factors that are out of your control when setting rates. Your age, gender and marital status are all factored in when you apply for coverage. Younger drivers (especially males) are charged higher rates for Utah car insurance coverage than more mature drivers. Women tend to pay less for their coverage, since they are less likely to be involved in accidents.
Getting married can give you a break on your car insurance pricing. People who have said, “I do” are seen as more responsible than single people. If you are planning to wed, make a note to advise your insurer about your change in marital status and ask if you are entitled to a discount.
Shopping around for car insurance coverage is a great strategy to use when you want to get cheap rates. Pricing can vary greatly between providers, and taking the time to request quotes from several companies can result in significant savings.
Are Utah and Virginia Auto Insurance Coverage Requirements the Same?
Utah and Virginia have different auto insurance requirements for drivers in their respective states. For one thing, Utah is a no-fault state for car insurance purposes. People who are injured in a motor vehicle accident would make a claim for their injuries and damages from their own insurance company.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage is used to pay for claims made by the policyholder and his or her family members and passengers following an accident. The minimum amount of this type of coverage required by law is $3,000.
Along with PIP coverage, Utah auto insurance buyers must also have bodily injury liability protection in place to pay for serious injuries not covered under no-fault insurance. At least $25,000 in protection to compensate one accident victim and $65,000 to pay for injuries and damages sustained by all victims of the same accident must be purchased. Property damage coverage of $15,000 must be in place to cover repairs to the other driver’s car and any public property damated in the accident.
Virginia drivers are living in a tort state for car insurance purposes. The minimum level of bodily injury liability coverage required under state law is $25,000 to compensate a single accident victim and $50,000 to pay for injuries and damages incurred by all people injured in the same accident.
Property damage liability protection is also required in VA. Drivers must buy a policy with at least $20,000 in property damage liability protection.
Average Cost of Utah Car Insurance 2020
Drivers in Utah paid an average of $1,445 for their car insurance coverage. This figure is below the national average of $1,552, but that doesn’t mean that residents of this state need to pay more than they have to for their coverage. The key to getting low rates for Utah car insurance is to shop around and compare rates from different providers.
The Internet makes shopping for car insurance coverage in Utah a quick and easy process. If you already have an idea of which company you would like to deal with, you can visit its web site to gather information about the coverage options available.
For a more general search for car insurance pricing, start by looking for car insurance companies in Utah. The results will give you web sites for companies licensed to provide coverage in the state. From there, you can visit individual web sites to get an idea of what each company offers and how it treats its customers. Once you find a company you are interested in getting pricing information from, getting an online quote is usually a simple matter of filling out an online form.
You can also visit a web site with an insurance quote tool to get quotes from a number of car insurance companies at once. This is the faster option because you only need to input your information once to get pricing information for comparison purposes.
Utah Car Insurance Liability Coverage Basics
When you buy Utah car insurance liability coverage, this portion of the policy is attached to the vehicle. You are covered while you are driving the car, as well as anyone who operates your vehicle with your permission.
It also covers you if you are responsible for causing bodily injuries to the occupants of another vehicle in an accident, up to the policy limit you choose. Damage to other vehicles and to public property (fire hydrants, sign posts, light stands, etc.) is also included in your liability coverage.
If you are sued by the driver of another vehicle to recover damages you are allegedly responsible for, your liability coverage also pays for the cost hiring a lawyer to represent you. Your Utah car insurance company will look after retaining the attorney on your behalf.
The state sets the minimum level of liability coverage you must buy to drive legally, and you can choose to buy only this amount if you wish. Before you do so, consider whether this is enough coverage to protect you from being personally responsible for paying damages following an accident.
You always have the option of buying a higher level of liability insurance coverage if you wish. Ideally, you should buy as much Utah car insurance coverage as you can afford. Consider the level of coverage you have in place carefully so that you are not underinsured if an accident occurs.
How to Get Free Online Utah Car Insurance Quotes
Car insurance consumers who want to get the best deal on their coverage should check out free online Utah car insurance quotes. This is an easy and convenient way to get pricing information from a number of providers.
Why go online to get insurance information? The Internet makes finding information on any topic a very simple process without having to confine the search to traditional “business hours.” Car insurance company web sites are always open for business, and a prospective customer can find out about the kinds of coverage they offer with a few clicks of their mouse.
To start finding out about car insurance rates, type “car insurance Utah” into a search engine. When the results come up, click on them to find out which companies are licensed to sell insurance in that state and to learn more about them. National companies may be able to offer better rates, but a smaller insurance provider will be able to provide a more personalized level of service. You will have to decide what is most important to you as a car insurance customer when you are considering your options.
If you are an insurance-savvy individual and you already know what you want, you can visit a web site that offers pricing information from a number of providers. With this method, you only need to input your information once to find out how much you would pay from several providers.
Utah RV Insurance Coverage vs. Auto Insurance
Buying Utah RV insurance coverage is not the same type of product as a standard auto insurance policy. A customer who lives or stays in his or her recreational vehicle will need a different type of protection than an individual who is shopping for a standard car insurance policy. Standard car insurance does not cover loss of the owner’s personal belongings, for one thing.
For a person who spends a lot of time in the RV, loss of the vehicle is similar to dealing with a catastrophic loss of a home. A standard car insurance policy only pays out based on the vehicle’s cash value. Utah RV insurance customers can find a policy that will cover its full replacement value.
Since an RV is not only a means of transportation but also a place to stay, RV insurance customers should look for a policy that will cover emergency expenses if the owner has to make a claim while away from home. Emergency expenses in this case means the reasonable cost of food, lodging and travel while the RV is being repaired or until a replacement unit can be located.
A person who is looking for RV coverage should also let the company know when he or she will be using it. Some insurance companies will offer a discount to customers who store their RV for part of the year. Car insurance companies do not offer this type of protection.
How to Get Low Auto Insurance Rates in Utah
Drivers who want to get low auto insurance rates in Utah need to be prepared to get quotes from a number of providers before making a buying decision. Each company offering coverage in the state sets its own rates for coverage independently and coverage rates will vary, depending on the provider. Spending some time shopping around for coverage will help consumers find the protection they need at an affordable price.
One thing that all Utah drivers can do to keep their insurance costs down is to maintain a clean driving record. Insurance companies offer their best rates to customers who are accident and moving violation-free. A driver who has been involved in an accident within the past few years will probably be charged higher rates for coverage. Staying accident-free for a few years means that rates should start to come down.
Drivers who are interested in getting low auto insurance rates in Utah can consider increasing the policy deductible. When a policyholder agrees to pay more toward the cost of settling a claim personally, the insurance company is taking on less risk to insure that person and can offer lower premium rates as a result.
Consumers should also ask whether they qualify for one or more discounts offered by insurance providers. Policyholders can get price breaks for buying more than one policy (home and auto), insuring more than one vehicle or driving one equipped with an anti-theft or a safety device.
Consumers Benefit from Online Utah Auto Insurance Quotes
When you want to buy a product or are looking for a service, the key to finding the best price is to shop around. Buying Utah auto insurance is no exception. To find out which car insurance company can give you a good deal on your coverage, take some time to investigate your options.
The Internet makes this process an easy and convenient one. Rather than having to wait for “normal” business hours and contact individual insurance companies directly, you can go to several insurance company web sites at any time that is convenient for you. Their company web sites are always available, and you can get the information you need to make a decision on your schedule.
You can check out different company web sites to find out something about the companies that are licensed to do business in the state. Along with asking for a quote, you can investigate an insurance company to make sure that it is well established and has the financial means to pay out on a large claim if you ever needed to make one. If you decide you would like to get a quote, all you need to do is answer a few questions.
The other way to get an online Utah auto insurance quote is to visit a single site where you can get pricing information from several companies. This is the fastest way to get several quotes so that you can compare prices.
Average Cost of Utah Car Insurance 2011
The average cost of car insurance coverage in Utah in 2011 was $1,231. This figure is below the national average, which is $1,441. Even though drivers in this state pay less than the national average for their coverage, it doesn’t mean that UT drivers shouldn’t be diligent about finding the best possible rates for their coverage.
One effective strategy for finding car insurance in Utah is to get quotes from a number of providers before making a decision to buy a policy. Rates for coverage can and do vary significantly, depending on the level of risk that a particular provider is willing to take. Shopping around can help a consumer find the lowest rates for his or her coverage.
Another way to find the best prices for car insurance coverage is to ask about available discounts. Many insurance providers offer preferred pricing for customers who insure more than one vehicle or who buy their car insurance and homeowner’s policy from the same company. Drivers who limit their annual mileage can save on their coverage costs, and insurance providers also give price breaks to customers who drive a car equipped with an anti-theft device or automatic seat belts.
Rather than automatically renewing coverage with the same provider each year, a better choice is to start getting quotes for coverage a couple of months before the current policy is due to expire. That will give a driver the time he or she needs to evaluate the quotes for coverage to determine which company can offer the best rates.
Utah and Virginia Auto Insurance Coverage Comparison
Utah and Virginia have some characteristics in common when it comes to auto insurance requirements. Both states require registered vehicles to carry third party liability coverage, but Utah operates under a no-fault system and Virginia is a tort state for car insurance.
Utah Auto Insurance Coverage Requirements
Under Utah state law, drivers must have at least the following level of liability coverage in place:
- Bodily injury coverage of $25,000 to pay for personal injuries or the death of one person in an accident
- $65,000 in bodily injury protection to compensate all victims of the same accident
- Property damage liability coverage of $15,000 to pay for repairs to the other driver’s vehicle and any public property damaged in the accident
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage of $3,000
PIP insurance is used to pay for personal injury claims made by the policyholder and the occupants of his or her vehicle under the no-fault provisions of the policy.
Virginia Auto Insurance Minimum Requirements
Virginia drivers are also required to have at least a minimum level of auto insurance coverage in place.
- Bodily injury liability coverage of $25,000 to compensate a single accident victim
- $50,000 in bodily injury protection to pay for personal injuries and funeral expenses for two or more people injured in the same occurrence
- Property damage liability coverage of $20,000 to cover damage to fences, sheds, buildings, sign posts and the other driver’s vehicle
Accident victims in VA have the right to sue to collect damages from the at-fault driver in an accident. In Utah, claims for compensation are made to the policyholder’s own insurance provider.
State Auto Insurance Basics: Utah
Under Utah state auto insurance laws, drivers are required to have at least a minimum level of protection in place. UT is a no-fault state for car insurance, which means that policyholders (and their passengers) who have been injured in an accident have their medical bills covered by their own insurance company, up to a certain limit.
To cover these types of losses, drivers are required to buy Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance. This portion of the policy provides compensation for “reasonable and necessary” medical expenses incurred as the result of the accident. The minimum level of PIP required by law is $3,000.
Accident victims whose injuries meet the threshold set by the state have the right to sue to collect damages. For this reason, third party liability coverage is also required by the state. The minimum level of bodily injury liability insurance required by law is $25,000 to pay for a single accident victim’s injuries and $65,000 to compensate all people injured in the same accident. This type of coverage pays for medical bills and also provides a funeral benefit if the accident is a fatal one.
Property damage liability insurance is also required under state law. This coverage is used to pay for the cost of repairs to the other driver’s vehicle, and drivers must buy at least $15,000 in protection to stay legal.
Consumers can choose to buy a policy with a higher limit if they wish to do so. This is a good idea, since the minimum level of coverage may not fully pay for damages if the accident is a serious one. The at-fault driver would be responsible for paying the difference personally in that instance.