Drivers in Massachusetts are required by the state to have uninsured/under insured motorist coverage in place. This type of insurance protects them when a serious accident occurs and the at-fault driver either doesn’t have insurance coverage or doesn’t have sufficient coverage to pay for the damages he or she caused.
In a no-fault state like MA, each person involved in an accident looks to his or her own insurance company to pay for medical bills, lost wages and the cost of repairs to the vehicle. When the accident is serious enough to meet the threshold which allows the injured person to sue, the at-fault driver is responsible for paying these costs.
The uninsured driver portion of the policy comes into play where the at-fault driver either doesn’t have insurance or the damages were caused by a hit-and-run driver. That way, the injured person has coverage for his or her injuries.
Under insured motorist coverage kicks in where the at-fault driver’s insurance coverage is not enough to pay for the damages he or she caused. It is used to top up whatever coverage the at-fault driver has in place to satisfy the injured person’s claim.
The minimum level of liability coverage required by law in Massachusetts is $20,000 for injuries incurred by one person and $40,000 for all injuries sustained in an accident. In the case of a serious accident, the minimum level of coverage may not be nearly enough.