Texas Minimum Auto Insurance Coverage for Drivers

In Texas, the minimum amount of auto insurance required by law is as follows:

  • $30,000 to pay for injuries and damages sustained by one person in an accident
  • $60,000 to  compensate two or more victims of the same accident
  • $25,000 to pay for property damage claims stemming from the accident

Bodily injury liability coverage pays for medical bills and rehabilitation costs for the occupants of the other vehicle in an accident. This part of the policy may also pay out for lost wages and claims for pain and suffering, depending on the laws of the particular state.

The property damage liability portion of the insurance policy pays for repairs to the other driver’s vehicle caused by an accident. It also pays for repairs to other property which was damaged or destroyed in the accident.

Consumers in the Lone Star State can choose to buy a policy which provides a higher level of protection if they wish. Buying a no-frills one which offers limited liability coverage may not be high enough if the accident is a serious one. In this tort state, people who have been injured in an accident have the right to sue the at-fault driver to get compensation for their injuries and other damages. If the available coverage is not high enough to fully pay these expenses, the at-fault driver must pay them personally.