Under Texas law, drivers must buy a minimum level of bodily injury coverage. At least $25,000 in bodily injury liability insurance must be put in place to pay for damages sustained by a single individual injured in a car accident. The minimum level of coverage for all people injured in a single accident is $50,000.
Along with the bodily injury liability insurance coverage, you will also need to buy property damage liability insurance. The minimum amount for this protection is $25.000. This type of coverage pays for repair costs to the other driver’s vehicle, as well as other property like mail boxes, fences and sign posts.
Texas is a tort state, which means that one driver will be considered at fault for the accident. That driver, and his or her insurance company, are responsible for paying for damages sustained by the occupants of the other vehicle.
In Texas, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage is not required by law. It’s worth considering, since this provision will compensate you if you are in an accident with someone who is driving without insurance coverage or who doesn’t have enough coverage to fully compensate you for your injuries.
No matter what decision you make about the level of coverage you put in place for your vehicle, do take the time to shop around for your coverage. You can get free online quotes from different companies to compare rates and policy provisions.