Texas Auto Insurance Coverage and Proof of Financial Responsibility

Texas auto insurance coverage is a legal requirement and all drivers must have at least a certain minimum level of protection in place to comply with state law.Third party liability protection is required, and all drivers must have a least $30,000 in bodily injury liability protection to pay for the injuries and damages claimed by an individual accident victim. The minimum level of coverage required to pay for claims made by multiple accident victims is $60,000. Property damage coverage of at least $25,000 must also be put in place.

Drivers are required to carry proof of insurance in their vehicle at all times, and the insurance card must be shown in these circumstances:

  • when requested by a police officer
  • following an accident
  • when registering or renewing the registration on a vehicle
  • when a person is getting or renewing his or her driver’s license
  • before a vehicle inspection

A person who is caught driving without insurance coverage is subject to the following penalties:

  • A fine of $175-$350  for a first offense
  • A second offense carries a penalty of $350-$1,000, as well as suspension of the offender’s driver’s license and impounding of his or her vehicle

Getting caught driving without a license carries a fine of up to $2,000, six months in jail, or both. If an unlicensed driver is involved in an accident causing death or severe injuries, the maximum fine is $4,000 or a year in jail, or both