Tennessee car insurance buyers must have at least the minimum level of coverage mandated by state law in place to drive legally in the state. Bodily injury and property damage liability insurance are both required.
The bodily injury liability coverage pays for the medical bills and lost wages incurred by the occupants of the other vehicle after an accident. It also pays for funeral expenses if the accident results in one or more deaths. Tennessee drivers must have at least $25,ooo in coverage in place to pay for the damages incurred by a single accident victim. A minimum of $5o,ooo in protection must be purchased to pay for injuries and funeral expenses for all victims of the same accident.
Property damage liability coverage pays for the cost of repairs to the other driver’s vehicle. It also pays for repairs to public property damaged or destroyed in the accident, such as fences, guard rails, sign posts and mailboxes.
A driver who is looking for Tennessee car insurance coverage always has the option of buying a policy with a higher limit if he or she wishes to do so. Ideally, a driver will buy as much coverage as he or she can afford. Limiting the coverage to the minimum level required by law may not be enough if the driver is involved in a serious accident. By getting quotes from several providers, a driver can get the best level of coverage that he or she can afford.