When you have been involved in a car accident, the first step in filing a claim with your Oregon car insurance company is to get the other driver’s name, address and insurance information. You will also need to provide this information after the event. Your insurance information is on the insurance card that should be in your vehicle.
If there were any witnesses to the event, you should approach them and ask for their names and contact information. They may need to provide a statement about what they saw to the police or the insurance adjuster.
Under Oregon state law, an accident that causes more than $1,500 worth of damages to either a vehicle or property (or results in a vehicle being towed) must be reported to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) within 72 hours. The required Oregon Accident and Insurance Report can be obtained from the local police or sheriff’s department, as well as DMV field offices.
Once you have notified your Oregon car insurance company about the accident, an adjuster will be assigned to the case. It will be his or her job to determine who was at fault for the accident. If you are not found responsible, your claim for personal injuries will be sent to the other driver’s insurance company for processing.
You should only release the other driver’s insurer when you are satisfied that your claim has been fully resolved. Once you sign off on it, you have no further recourse to get compensation.