The state of Texas has determined that the minimum amount of auto insurance coverage drivers must have in place is as follows:
- $30,000 to pay for injuries and damages sustained by one occupant of the other vehicle in an at-fault accident
- $60,000 to compensate two or more occupants of the other vehicle for their injuries and economic loss following an accident
- $25,000 in property damage liability coverage to pay for repairs to the other driver’s vehicle, as well as public property damaged or destroyed in the accident
Tort State for Auto Insurance
Texas has adopted a tort system for auto insurance purposes. Under this method of settling accident claims, the driver who is found to be responsible for the accident must also pay for the damages caused. If the driver has insurance in place, as directed under Texas state law, the insurer will cover these damages up to the policy limit the customer has chosen. If the level of damages caused in the accident is higher than the available coverage, the at-fault driver is responsible for paying the difference personally.
Proof of Insurance Required
Drivers in the Lone Star State are required to produce proof of insurance coverage if they are stopped by a police officer. A driver who unable to produce proof of coverage during a traffic stop will immediately be given a ticket and the incident will be noted on their driving record.