|

State Auto Insurance Requirements in Maine

State auto insurance requirements in Maine spell out the minimum levels of coverage all drivers in the state must have in place. Maine is a tort state for car insurance, which means that one driver must be found at fault when an accident occurs. That individual is responsible for paying for damages caused, including medical bills, lost wages, funeral expenses (if necessary) and repairs to the other driver’s vehicle.

At least $50,000 in bodily injury coverage to pay for medical bills and lost wages incurred by a single occupant of the other vehicle must be put in place, and a minimum of $100,000 in coverage must be bought to compensate all victims of the same accident.

Property damage coverage coverage pays for repairs to the other vehicle and any public property damaged in the accident. The minimum amount for this type of coverage is $25,000.

Under Maine state law, uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage is also required. This part of the policy is used when the at-fault driver does not have insurance or does not have enough coverage to pay for the damages caused. In the case of underinsured motorist coverage, the at-fault driver’s policy is used up to its policy limits first. The minimum level of uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage is $50,000 to compensate one accident victim and $100,000 to pay for all damages stemming from the same accident.

Similar Posts