The state of Alaska has a series of minimum auto insurance requirements and these must be in place before motorists can legally operate their vehicles on the highways of the Last Frontier. Alaska has minimum limits of 50/100/25 and this often causes confusion for many drivers. However, these statutory auto insurance requirements are relatively easy to understand and they should be adhered to whenever Alaskan residents are comparing car insurance quotes.
The basic minimum levels of coverage are laid out as follows:
- $50,000 per person of bodily injury liability
- $100,000 per accident of bodily injury liability
- $25,000 of property damage liability
When auto insurance quotes are gathered and a policy is purchased, motorists in Alaska will be provided with an insurance identification card and this must be offered to law enforcement officers in the immediate wake of an accident or during a routine traffic check. A new card is issued every time a policy is take out or renewed.
The insurance identification card carries a number of important details and will include the number of the policy, the name of the driver and the insurance company, the date that the policy became effective and the date that the policy expires. In addition, information will also be provided regarding the insured vehicle.
Failure to produce an insurance identification card will be viewed as a traffic violation and this can result in a fine as well as a negative entry on a driving record. This can lead to additional costs being enforced whenever future car insurance quotes are applied for.