Southern California drivers who are looking for the lowest auto insurance rates can choose to buy only the minimum level of coverage required under state law. At this level, a consumer will have some liability protection in place in case he or she is involved in an accident but it may not be high enough to pay for damages caused in a serious accident.
Southern California Auto Insurance Minimum Coverage Levels
California drivers must have the following level of coverage in place to stay legal:
- $15,000 in bodily injury liability coverage to pay for injuries claimed by one occupant of the other vehicle in an accident
- $30,000 in bodily injury protection to pay for medical bills and rehabilitation expenses of two or more people injured in the same accident
- $5,000 in property damage liability coverage to pay for repairs to the other driver’s vehicle and any public property damaged or destroyed in the accident
Public property refers to items like fences, sheds, buildings, sign posts, light stands and mail boxes. This type of coverage doesn’t compensate the occupants of the other vehicle for loss of their personal property; a homeowners’ or tenants’ policy would cover these types of claims.
Insurance providers in the state must offer quotes for at least the minimum level of coverage required under state law. To keep costs down, drivers should make a point of getting pricing from several providers before making a buying decision.