South Dakota car insurance buyers must have third party liability coverage in place. Under state law, consumers must buy a policy with at least a certain level of coverage. The minimum level of bodily injury liability insurance required in the state is $25,000 for a single victim and $50,000 to pay for the injuries sustained by all victims of the same accident. The bodily injury liability coverage pays for the cost of medical bills and lost wages incurred by the occupants of the other vehicle following a car accident.
Along with the bodily injury liability coverage, residents of South Dakota must also purchase property damage liability insurance. This is the part of the policy that pays for the cost of repairs to the other driver’s vehicle, as well as any public property damaged in the accident. Public property includes fences, guard rails, sign posts and light stands. The minimum level of property damage coverage required by law is $25,000.
The state also requires drivers to buy uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage. Uninsured motorist coverage pays out when the at-fault driver in an accident does not have insurance. Underinsured motorist coverage works a bit differently; it is used to top up available coverage when the at-fault driver does not have enough protection to fully pay for the damages caused. The minimum level of protection required for uninsured and underinsured motorist protection is $25,000 for a single accident victim and $50,000 for all injuries and damages stemming from the same accident.