Car insurance buyers in South Carolina are required to have at least a certain level of car insurance coverage in place to drive legally. Bodily injury liability insurance pays for the cost of medical bills for injuries sustained by the occupants of the other vehicle in an accident.
Under state law, drivers must have at least $25,000 in bodily injury liability coverage to pay for injuries sustained by an individual hurt in an accident, and $50,000 to pay for all injuries suffered as a result of the accident, no matter how many people were hurt.
Property damage liability coverage of at least $25,000 must also be put in place. This is the portion of the policy that pays for the cost of repairing the other driver’s vehicle, as well as any objects damaged in the accident such as light stands, sign posts and the like.
While buying only the minimum level of coverage required by law means a driver has fulfilled his or her duty to have South Carolina car insurance in place, it may not be the best choice for all drivers. The car insurance company will only pay for damages up to the policy limit. Once this level has been reached, any additional damages owing must be paid by the policyholder personally.
Buying a higher level of coverage is a decision that makes good financial sense. If a serious accident occurs, the policyholder has an additional level of protection.