Under Rhode Island state law, drivers must comply with mandatory auto insurance coverage requirements to stay legal. Third party liability protection is required in this tort state. It pays for injuries and damages suffered by the occupants of the other vehicle when an at-fault accident occurs.
The minimum amount of bodily injury liability coverage required by law is $25,000 to compensate one person injured or killed in an accident, and $50,000 to pay for all injuries and deaths stemming from the same accident. This part of the policy pays for medical and rehabilitation expenses; it also provides a funeral benefit in the case of a fatal accident.
At least $25,000 in property damage liability protection must also be put in place under state law. This part of the policy pays for repairs to the other driver’s vehicle following the accident, as well as the cost of repairing public property, such as fences, guard rails, sign posts and light stands.
Even though the state has set minimum coverage requirements for Rhode Island drivers, it doesn’t mean they are limited to this level of protection. A car insurance buyer can choose to buy a policy with a higher level of protection, if he or she wishes to do so. This is an excellent strategy, since the damages caused in a serious accident can easily add up to more than the minimum level of liability coverage required by law. To avoid being personally responsible for paying for damages, drivers should consider a policy with a higher coverage limit.