In Arkansas, car insurance customers must have at least the minimum level of coverage mandated by the state in place to drive legally. Bodily injury liability insurance pays for the medical bills incurred by people traveling in the other vehicle. The minimum level of bodily injury liability coverage required is $25,000 for the sole occupant of the other vehicle and $50,000 for all people traveling in the other car.
Along with bodily injury liability coverage, property damage liability insurance is also required for Arkansas drivers. The minimum level of this protection is $25,000. It pays for the cost of repairing the other driver’s vehicle, as well as any public or private property damaged in the accident, such as fences, light stands, traffic signs and mailboxes.
When an accident occurs, the at-fault driver, or his or her insurance company, is responsible for paying damages. While $25,000 is the minimum amount of bodily injury liability coverage required by law, it may not be enough to pay the full amount of a claim if the injury is a serious one. A car insurance consumer is well advised to consider buying a policy with a higher limit if he or she is able to afford it.
Shopping around for coverage is the best way to find a company that can offer a higher level of coverage at a price an Arkansas car insurance customer can afford.