Proof of Washington Auto Insurance Required

In Washington, drivers are required to produce proof of car insurance to police officers on request. The proof of insurance should be carried in the vehicle at all times.

If a driver is unable to provide the requested documentation, the office will presume that the driver does not have coverage. This is a traffic infraction which carries a minimum fine of $450. Providing the officer with a falsified insurance document is a misdemeanor offense.

A valid identification card includes the following information:

  • Name of the insurance company
  • Policy number
  • Date policy took effect
  • Expiry date for the policy

The insurance card will also include a description of the vehicle the policy pertains to. It lists the make and model of the vehicle, as well as its year.

A new insurance card is issued when a policy is renewed, and a driver needs make sure to switch the previous card for the new one on receipt. Destroying the old insurance card is a good idea to avoid confusion about whether the driver has the current one in his or her car.

Some types of vehicles are exempt from the proof of insurance regulation:

  • Antique vehicle
  • Collector vehicle more than 30 years old
  • Moped
  • Motorcycle.
  • Motor-driven cycle)
  • State or publicly-owned vehicle

They must be insured, but an operator does have the same duty to produce proof of insurance when asked to do so by a police officer.

Leave a Comment