Drivers in the Keystone State are obliged to carry evidence of Pennsylvania auto insurance every time they take to the roads. Although there are no compulsory measures for residents of Pennsylvania to carry protection against under insured or uninsured motorists, there are still three key areas that are mandatory in relation to Pennsylvania auto insurance.
Bodily Injury Liability
It is a legal requirement for all Pennsylvanian drivers to carry bodily insurance liability insurance. The minimum level of coverage is set at $15,000 of liability for a single individual up to a total of $30,000 in total for an accident where two or more third parties are injured. This is only the absolute minimum level of liability insurance required by Pennsylvania auto insurance laws and additional coverage should be considered wherever possible.
Personal Injury Protection
Pennsylvania auto insurance requires all drivers to carry a minimum of $5,000 in personal injury protection cover. This section of insurance coverage covers the cost of medical bills and treatment should the policyholder sustain any physical injuries in the event of a road traffic accident.
Property Damage Cover
While the importance of covering injured parties should always be paramount, Pennsylvania auto insurance laws also require motorists to hold a minimum of $5,000 in property damage protection. This takes accident damage to third party vehicles and any subsequent damage to property contained within those vehicles into consideration.
Under Insured/Uninsured Driver Coverage
Although Pennsylvania auto insurance laws haven’t made under insured and uninsured driver coverage compulsory, it is still an insurance add-on that prudent motorists should consider when purchasing a policy.