USA

Penalties for Driving Without South Dakota Car Insurance

A person who is caught driving without car insurance coverage in South Dakota will be subject to some significant penalties. The individual will be required to pay a fine of at least $150. If he or she is involved in an accident, 14 points will be assessed against the driver’s license. At that level, the license will be suspended. The length of the suspension can vary from 30 days to one year in length. Since driving without insurance is a criminal offense, the driver could also be facing a jail term of 30 days and/or an additional fine of $100.

Once the driver gets his or her license back, he or she will need to demonstrate proof of insurance by filing an SR-22 with the state Department of Motor Vehicles for three years from the date of the conviction. Not all insurance companies will issue an SR-22, and the driver may need to look elsewhere for coverage.

When an insurance company does issue an SR-22, it puts the driver at a higher level of risk to insure. As a result they are looking at paying much more for their coverage during the time the SR-22 is in place.

To get the best pricing when an SR-22 is required, a car insurance customer should get quotes from a number of companies before making a buying decision. Rates can vary greatly for the same level of coverage and investing some time can lead to savings on this necessary protection.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.