Having auto insurance in place is a legal requirement in Texas. Drivers who let their coverage lapse will be facing strict penalties under state law.
Since Texas is a tort state, one driver is determined to be responsible for the accident. That individual pays for the damages he or she caused, including medical bills and lost wages. When the responsible driver doesn’t have insurance, he or she will be faced with having to cover these expenses personally.
The first time you are caught driving without insurance, you will have to pay a fine of up to $350. A second offense means even higher penalties, including a fine of up to $1,000. Along with the monetary penalty, your driver’s license could be suspended and your vehicle may be impounded.
You may be asked to provide proof of insurance when stopped by a police officer during a routine traffic stop. If you are unfortunate enough to be involved in an accident, you will be asked to show proof of insurance. The Department of Motor Vehicles may ask to see proof that you have insurance in place when you register your vehicle.
Rather than let your Texas car insurance lapse because you can’t afford the payments, a better choice is to shop around for more affordable coverage. You can get online quotes from multiple companies, which will help you find the right coverage for your needs.