Drivers in Alaska are required to have proof of liability insurance in their vehicle at all times. A person who is not able to do so will have his or her driver’s license suspended for between 90 days and one year. The duration of the suspension will depend on the individual’s prior driving record and whether they have been involved in any prior accidents.
If a driver is not able to provide proof of insurance after an accident occurs, his or her driver’s license will be suspended even if that individual is not found to be the at-fault driver. Along with the license suspension, a driver who is convicted of driving without insurance may be ordered to pay a fine of up to $500. A second conviction for a similar crime carries a fine of up to $1,000 or a six month driver’s license suspension, or both.
If the reason a person is tempted to drive without car insurance in Alaska is financial, that individual should try to find a good price on the minimum level of coverage required by law. Going online to get quotes from several car insurance companies is the way to find the best rates. Each insurance company set its own premium rates, and spending some time on the Internet to compare rates from different providers can result in significant savings on the cost of coverage.