Oregon Car Insurance Minimum Requirements

Oregon car insurance buyers are required to have at last the minimum level of coverage mandated by law in place in order to drive legally. OR is a tort state for car insurance purposes, and bodily injury and property damage coverage must be purchased by all drivers.

Bodily injury coverage pays for medical bills and lost wages incurred by the occupants of the other vehicle when an accident occurs. It also pays out a funeral benefit in the case of a fatal accident. The minimum level of protection required by law in the state is $25,000 to pay for injuries and damages sustained by a single accident victim and $50,000 to compensate all victims of the same accident.

Property damage liability coverage pays for the cost of repairs to the other driver’s vehicle, as well as any public property damaged in the accident. Examples of this type of property include fences, sign posts, light stands and mail boxes. At least $20,000 in property damage liability coverage must be bought.

Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage is also required in this state. Uninsured motorist coverage is used to pay for damages when the at-fault driver in an accident does not have insurance coverage. Underinsured motorist protection kicks in to make up the difference between the amount of coverage the driver responsible for the accident has in place and the amount of damages he or she caused. The minimums that must be purchased are the same as for bodily injury liability protection. Personal Injury Protection coverage of $15,000 or more pays for the driver’s own injuries and lost wages following an accident.