In South Carolina, drivers are required to buy bodily injury liability insurance coverage as well as property damage liability insurance. They must also have uninsured motorist coverage in place. This part of the insurance policy pays out if the occupants of a vehicle are injured and the at-fault driver does not have insurance coverage.
The minimum amount of uninsured motorist protection required by law is $25,000 for a single person injured in an accident and $50,00 to cover injuries and expenses incurred by all people injured in the same accident. These are the same limits for bodily injury liability insurance set by the state. The uninsured motorist coverage must also include a minimum of $10,000 for property damage liability protection to pay for the cost of repairing the policyholder’s vehicle.
South Carolina are required to offer their customers the option of buying uninsured motorist coverage in the same amount as their policy limit for bodily injury liability protection. They are also required to offer the same level of coverage for underinsured motorist protection.
Car insurance customers in South Carolina can also choose to buy collision and comprehensive coverage for their vehicle. Collision insurance pays for the cost of repairing the vehicle if it is damaged in an accident. Comprehensive coverage pays for losses due to other circumstances, such as fire, an act of vandalism or severe weather. This part of the policy also pays out if the car is stolen.