NY Auto Insurance Liability Coverage for Drivers

NY auto insurance buyers must have at least a minimum level of coverage in place to comply with state law. Since New York is a no-fault state, vehicle owners must buy Personal Injury Protection (PIP). This is the part of the policy which protects the policyholder, his or her family members and passengers while riding in the vehicle. At least $50,000 in PIP must be bought, and customers can choose a policy which offers a higher level of protection if they wish.

Even though New York is a no-fault state for car insurance purposes, accident victims have the right to sue to collect damages in certain circumstances. For this reason, drivers must buy liability coverage. The minimum level mandated by law for this type of protection is $25,000 to pay for personal injury claims made by a single accident victim and $50,000 to compensate two or more people injured in the same accident.

At least $10,000 in property damage liability coverage must also be bought. This is the part of the policy which pays for repairs to the other driver’s vehicle and any public property damaged or destroyed in the accident.

NY auto insurance requirements also include uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage. They pay out when the at-fault driver in an accident does not have coverage (uninsured motorist) or does not have enough insurance to pay for the damages caused (underinsured motorist coverage). The minimum levels for this type of protection are $25,000 to pay for one person’s claims and $50,000 to pay for all injuries and damages from the same accident.

 

Similar Posts