Under state law, North Dakota drivers must have at least a minimum level of liability coverage in place. This portion of their car insurance policy is meant to pay for personal injuries they cause, as well as the cost of repairing the other driver’s vehicle and public property damaged in the accident.
The minimum level of coverage that must be in place is $25,000 for damages sustained by a single accident victim and $50,000 to cover the injuries suffered by all individuals hurt in the accident. The bodily injury liability coverage pays for medical bills, rehabilitation expenses and other costs related to the accident.
Along with the bodily injury portion of the policy, North Dakota law requires drivers to purchase property damage coverage. The minimum level of coverage required is $25,000, and the property damage liability insurance coverage is the part of the policy that pays for repairs to the other driver’s vehicle, as well as sign posts, mail boxes, fences and sheds that have been damaged in the accident.
Although drivers must buy at least the minimum amount of coverage mandated by law, they are always free to put a higher level of coverage in place if they wish. It’s a good idea to do so to for additional protection in case an at-fault accident causing serious injuries occurs. In that instance, the higher policy limit can be used to pay for the damages caused.