North Carolina Optional Car Insurance Coverage

North Carolina drivers are required to have bodily injury liability and property damage liability coverage in place. There are a number of optional coverage options available that a car owner may want to consider putting in place as well.

[su_box title="We're an affiliate" style="bubbles" box_color="#51f35a" title_color="#098e15"]We hope you like our recommendations! Just so you know, we may collect a share of sales or other compensation from the links on this page. Thank you for using our links, it is much appreciated.[/su_box]

Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage is one example. This type of insurance pays out when the at-fault driver in a car accident either doesn’t have insurance coverage or doesn’t have enough coverage to pay for the full amount of the damages he or she caused. This type of optional coverage can be added to an existing insurance policy very easily, and for North Carolina drivers, the most common level of coverage is $100,000 for a single person injured in an accident and $300,000 for all damages incurred in a single accident.

Collision coverage is not required by law in North Carolina, but if the vehicle has been financed, the lender will likely insist that it be put in place. This is the coverage that pays for repair costs when the car is damaged by striking another vehicle, a person or an animal (domestic or wild).

Comprehensive insurance protects the car against other types of loss. It provides coverage for theft, fire and vandalism. This part of the insurance policy also protects against damage caused by flooding, wind, or hail.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.