New drivers who are looking for North Carolina auto insurance coverage need to familiarize themselves with the minimum level of coverage required under state law. All cars registered in the state must have at least this level of coverage in place.
North Carolina Auto Insurance Coverage Requirements
Liability auto insurance coverage is required in NC, and drivers must have at least 30/60/25 coverage in place. These numbers break down to $30,000 in bodily injury liability coverage to pay for injuries and damages claimed by one person and $60,000 in coverage to compensate all victims injured in the same accident. Property damage liability coverage of $25,000 or more must also be bought, and this part of the policy pays for damage to other people’s property, including the other driver’s vehicle.
Uninsured motorist coverage for bodily injury claims is also required under NC state law. The minimum coverage limits are the same as for third party liability protection. Drivers can choose to buy a policy with a higher coverage limit if they wish, and a policy providing up to $1 million in coverage may be purchased.
Optional Auto Insurance Coverage
Collision and comprehensive coverage is not required under North Carolina state law. Both of these types of coverage protect the car from physical damage. Even though they are optional, a new car owner who took out a loan to pay for his or her vehicle may need to keep both of them in place until the vehicle has been paid off.