The average cost of auto insurance in New York state is $1,431 — which is #23 in state rankings — according to Insure’s annual survey. Yet, you can get below-average premiums just by shopping around for free New York auto insurance quotes on our site. That being said, you want to make sure you know the law before you shop for insurance. Here is what the New York Department of Motor Vehicles has to say about local auto insurance rules, requirements, and penalties.
New York Minimum Insurance Requirements
To register your vehicle in New York, you must buy the minimum liability insurance:
- $25,000 per person injured in an accident
- $50,000 total liability coverage per accident, and
- $10,000 for property damage per accident.
Who Is At Fault In New York?
The state of New York is a “no-fault” system, meaning that your insurance will cover you and everyone in your car, regardless of whose fault the accident was. By the same token, the other motorist’s insurance will cover damage to his or her car and people. This law makes it illegal for drivers to be uninsured. It also ensures that accidents will be covered immediately, without being slowed down by the legal process.
The NY Point System
Accidents are just one way your auto insurance costs go up. Whenever you receive a ticket, you receive points on your license, which also count against you and drive your premium up. If you get 11 points in 18 months, you can have your license suspended for 31 days or more. These points generally stay on record for 18 months, even though the conviction will be listed for 3 years or more. These are the points assigned:
- Speeding (1-10 MPH over posted limit): 3 points
- Speeding (11-20 MPH over posted limit): 4 points
- Speeding (21-30 MPH over posted limit): 6 points
- Speeding (31-40 MPH over posted limit): 8 points
- Speeding (more than 40 MPH over posted limit): 11 points
- Reckless driving: 5 points
- Failing to stop for a school bus: 5 points
- Following too closely (tailgating): 4 points
- Inadequate brakes: 4 points
- Inadequate brakes while driving an employer’s vehicle: 2 points
- Failing to yield right-of-way: 3 points
- Violation involving a traffic signal, stop sign, or yield sign: 3 points
- Railroad-crossing violation: 3 points
- Improper passing, unsafe lane change, driving left of center, or driving in wrong direction: 3 points
- Leaving the scene of an incident involving property damage or injury to a domestic animal: 3 points
- Safety restraint violation involving a person under 16: 3 points
- Any other moving violation: 2 points
You can find your local New York Department of Motor Vehicles office here. But while you’re here, why not search free auto insurance quotes? It only takes a few moments to see if you could be saving hundreds on your insurance premium!