Each state sets its own minimum requirements for car insurance coverage. When you ask a provider for a car insurance quote, you must buy the minimum level required by law, but you always have the option of putting a higher level of protection in place.
Bodily Injury Liability Coverage
Drivers in New York must have at least $25,000 in bodily injury liability insurance in place to compensate an individual injured in an accident. A minimum of $50,000 in coverage must be bought to pay for the damages sustained by all people injured in the same accident – no matter how many there are.
Property Damage Insurance
Minimum levels of New York car insurance coverage also include at least $10,000 in property damage insurance. This pays for the cost of repairing the other vehicle involved in the accident, as well as other objects that were hit, including fences, sheds and sign posts.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage is another requirement under New York law. If you were injured in a hit and run accident or the other driver didn’t have insurance or didn’t have enough coverage to compensate you for your injuries, this portion of your policy would pay benefits. The minimum coverage levels are $25,000 for one person’s injuries and $50,000 to compensate everyone hurt in the accident.
Personal Injury Protection Insurance
Personal injury protection coverage pays for reasonable costs of medical bills and related expenses for you and the passengers traveling in your vehicle. The minimum level of coverage required is $50,000.