The state of Nevada has passed a law requiring drivers to have a certain level of insurance coverage in place. At least $15,000 of bodily injury liability coverage must be in force to pay for injuries incurred by one person in a car accident. A full $30,000 in liability insurance to pay for injuries suffered by everyone injured in a single accident is also required.
Property damage liability insurance is also required in Nevada. At least $10,000 in coverage to pay for the cost of repairing the other driver’s vehicle, as well as any other objects damaged in the accident must be put in place.
Unlike some states, Nevada does not require drivers to purchase uninsured/underinsured driver coverage. This type of coverage is recommended, though. It protects a person who is injured in a car accident due to the actions of a person who either has no insurance or who doesn’t have enough coverage to pay damages. Even though there are penalties in place for driving without insurance, it is not enough of a deterrent to make all drivers buy the required level of coverage. This extra protection can be added to a standard car insurance policy if desired.
Buying only the minimum level of car insurance coverage is perfectly legal, and for people who want to keep the cost of insurance down, it may be tempting. Car insurance customers always have the option of putting a higher level of protection in place.