Nebraska auto insurance customers must buy at least the minimum level of coverage to stay legal. Bodily injury and property damage liability coverage are both mandatory in the state.
The minimum level of bodily injury liability coverage for Nebraska drivers is $25,000 to pay for the injuries and lost wages of an individual injured in an accident and $50,000 to pay for the injuries sustained by all victims in a single accident.
Along with bodily injury liability coverage, drivers in NE must also buy property damage liability protection. This is the part of the policy that is used to pay for the cost of repairs to the other driver’s vehicle, as well as any public property damaged in the accident. In this instance, public property includes mail boxes, sign posts, and light stands. The minimum level of this type of coverage is $25,000.
While buying a policy with only the minimum level of protection required by law is all that a driver in NE needs to do to satisfy the legal requirements set by the state, it’s a good idea to consider buying a policy with a higher limit. With the cost of health care continuing to rise, a policy with only the minimum level of protection may not be enough to fully pay for medical expenses following a serious accident. In that instance, the at-fault driver is responsible for paying the difference personally.