Montana state auto insurance laws require drivers to have third party liability coverage in place to drive legally. Since MT is a tort state for car insurance, people who have been injured in an accident have the right to sue to collect damages for personal injuries, lost income, and vehicle repairs.
Bodily injury liability insurance coverage is used to pay for personal injuries sustained by the occupants of the other vehicle in a collision. The minimum amount of coverage required by law is $25,000 to compensate a single accident victim and $50,000 to pay for injuries and damages for multiple victims from the same event. If the accident resulted in one or more fatalities, this part of the policy pays out a funeral benefit.
Property damage liability coverage is used to pay for the cost of repairs to the other driver’s vehicle, as well as public property damaged in the accident such as mail boxes, fences and sign posts. The minimum level of coverage required by law is $10,000.
Getting caught driving without insurance coverage in Montana carries a penalty of a $250-$500 fine or up to 10 days in jail for a first offense. Second-time offenders will be required to pay a $350 fine or serve 10 days in jail. The offender’s license will automatically be suspended for a second offense.
Five points will be added to the driver’s record for each offense; if 30 points are accumulated, the driver’s license will be revoked.