Minnesota auto insurance customers are required to buy a certain level of coverage to comply with state laws. At least $30,000 in bodily injury liability coverage must be put in place to pay for injuries sustained by a single accident victim. A minimum of $60,000 must be purchased to pay for injuries and lost wages incurred by all victims of a single accident.
Property damage liability coverage is also required under Minnesota state law. The minimum level of coverage that drivers must buy is $10,000 to pay for the cost of repairs to the other driver’s vehicle. This part of the policy also pays for the cost of repairing public property damaged in the accident, such as fences, sign posts, light stands and mail boxes.
Drivers in this state must also buy uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage. The minimum level for each of these requirements is $25,000 to pay for damages incurred by one person in an accident and $50,000 for all damages stemming from the same accident. This coverage is put in place to provide compensation for damages caused by a driver who does not have insurance or does not have enough coverage in place to pay for the damages he or she is responsible for causing.
Since Minnesota is a no-fault state for car insurance, drivers are required to buy Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage as well. The minimum amount of this type of protection is $40,000, which is used to pay for medical bills and lost wages for the policyholder and the occupants of his or her vehicle.