Drivers in Rhode Island are required to have liability coverage in place to drive legally in the state. They must buy at least $25,000 in bodily injury liability insurance to pay for the damages sustained by a single person injured in an accident and $50,000 for injuries sustained by multiple victims of a single accident. State law also directs that vehicle owners must have $25,000 in property damage insurance in place. The three numbers can be expressed as 25/50/25.
Bodily injury liability coverage pays for the medical bills and expenses of the occupants in the other vehicle following an accident. It also compensates the injured person for lost wages. Property damage insurance is put in place to pay for repairs to the other driver’s vehicle, as well as objects that are damaged in the accident, such as mail boxes, street signs and fences.
Rhode Island has also passed a law requiring vehicle owners to buy uninsured motorist coverage. This type of insurance pays out when the driver responsible for an accident does not have coverage. With the uninsured driver protection in place, the injured person can have his or her medical bills paid and have the cost of repairing his or her car covered. This part of the policy will pay out up to the policy limit chosen.