In Delaware, vehicle owners are required to have a certain level of car insurance coverage in place. The state government has passed laws directing that drivers must buy at least $15,000 in bodily injury coverage to pay for damages sustained by one person in an accident and $30,000 for the injuries and expenses incurred by all people injured in the same one. The cap for any individual is $15,000.
Along with the bodily injury protection coverage, Delaware drivers must also buy $10,000 in property damage liability insurance. This portion of the insurance policy will pay for the cost of repairing property damaged in the accident, including the other driver’s vehicle.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance pays benefits to a driver and his or her passengers who have been injured in a car accident. This coverage pays for medical expenses and lost wages, no matter who was at fault for the accident. The PIP coverage will also pay up to $5,000 for funeral expenses.
The minimum levels of car insurance coverage required in Delaware is quite low, and may not be enough to pay for the medical bills and expenses incurred by accident victims. Drivers should buy as much coverage as they can comfortably afford to make sure they have enough protection if they are responsible for causing an accident.