Drivers in Hawaii must buy at least the minimum level of liability coverage mandated by the state. To drive legally, a person must have at least $20,000 to pay for the medical bills and expenses incurred by a single person injured in an accident and $40,000 for damages caused to all people injured in the same event.
Along with the bodily injury coverage, drivers in Hawaii must buy $10,000 in property damage insurance. The property damage coverage pays for the cost of repairing the other driver’s vehicle, as well as any other property damaged in the accident. It will pay to fix a damaged fence, shed, building, mail box or sign post.
The bodily injury liability coverage only pays for damaged incurred by the occupants of the other vehicle and drivers in Hawaii are also required by law to buy at least $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage. This is used to pay for a driver’s own medical expenses for injuries sustained in an accident. People who have a good health insurance plan may choose to limit their coverage to only the minimum required by law, all residents of Hawaii are free to buy a policy at a higher rate of coverage if they wish.
Each Hawaii car insurance customer should consider their personal situation carefully to make sure they have the right level of coverage for their needs.