Drivers in Wyoming are required to buy a certain level of liability insurance coverage to drive legally in that state. While the state has mandated the minimum level of coverage required by all vehicle operators, they can buy a policy with a higher coverage limit if they wish. Ideally, Wyoming residents should buy as much insurance as they can afford.
The minimum level of bodily injury liability coverage required in Wyoming is $25,000 for damages sustained by one person in the other vehicle. At least $50,000 in coverage must be put in place for all people injured in a single accident. The bodily injury liability insurance pays for medical bills, lost wages and other expenses incurred after the accident. It also pay funeral expenses for a fatal accident.
Property damage liability insurance is also required for Wyoming drivers. The minimum is $20,000. This portion of the policy pays for the cost of repairs to the other driver’s car, as well as any other objects damaged in the crash.
Wyoming doesn’t require drivers to buy uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage, but it’s a good idea to put this protection in place. It pays out when the other driver either doesn’t have insurance or does not have sufficient coverage in place to pay for the damages that occurred.