Massachusetts Auto Insurance Minimum Requirements

Massachusetts auto insurance customers are required to buy a minimum level of coverage to comply with state laws. MA is a no-fault state for car insurance, which means that all drivers must have at least $8,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP)  to pay for the injuries and lost wages incurred by the occupants of their own vehicle.

Along with the PIP coverage, third party liability insurance is also required in the state. Injured people do have the right to sue in certain circumstances, and a minimum of $20,000 in bodily injury liability coverage must be purchased to pay for medical bills, rehabilitation expenses and lost wages incurred by a single accident victim and $40,000 to pay for all damages caused by the same event. This is the part of the policy that also pays out a death benefit of the accident results in one or more fatalities.

Property damage liability coverage of at least $5,000 is also required in MA. This protection pays for the cost of repairs to the other driver’s vehicle and any public property damaged in the accident. Public property includes mail boxes, sign posts, guard rails and fences.

Uninsured motorist coverage is required in the state as well. In a case where the level of damages meets the state threshold to sue for damages and the at-fault driver does not have insurance, this is the part of the policy that will pay out for bodily injuries. The minimum level of coverage required is $20,000 for one person and $40,000 for all damages from the same accident.