Under state law, Maryland auto insurance buyers are required to have a certain level of coverage in place to drive legally. They must have at least $20,000 in bodily injury liability insurance protection to pay for the injuries of a single accident victim and $40,000 in coverage for all injuries stemming from the same accident. Property damage coverage to pay for the cost of repairs to the other driver’s vehicle and any public property damaged in the accident (mail boxes, sign posts, light stands) is also required in Maryland.
Uninsured motorist coverage is also mandatory in this state. It pays out when the at-fault driver in an accident does not have car insurance coverage, and the minimum level of protection required is $20,000. At least $15,000 in uninsured motorist property damage must also be purchased.Underinsured motorist coverage is also required and this coverage is used to top up the policyholder’s existing coverage, and the minimum amount of coverage required is $40,000.
Drivers in Maryland must also buy at least $2,500 in Personal Injury Protection coverage. This part of the policy pays for the medical bills and expenses incurred by the policyholder and the occupants of his or her vehicle following an accident.
While the state has determined the minimum level of Maryland auto insurance that must be put in place, drivers can choose to buy a policy with a higher level of protection if they choose.