Texas drivers can get liability only auto insurance quotes from any company licensed to sell policies in the state. Under state law, all cars registered in the state must carry third party liability protection.
Minimum Texas Auto Insurance Coverage Requirements
The minimum level of liability coverage required in the state is:
- $30,000 in bodily injury liability coverage to pay for personal injury claims made by one person injured in an accident
- $60,000 in bodily injury liability protection to compensate all victims injured in the same accident
- $25,000 to pay for property damage claims for repairs to the other driver’s vehicle and any public property damaged in the accident
Optional Auto Insurance Coverage in Texas
Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage is not a legal requirement in TX, but it is worthwhile to add it to a policy. Not all drivers in the state comply with state laws requiring liability insurance protection and uninsured motorist coverage pays for injury claims when the at-fault driver doesn’t have any coverage in place.
Underinsured motorist coverage is used to top up the policy limit that an at-fault driver has if the level of damages caused is higher than coverage that he or she has in place. The at-fault driver’s insurance company will pay out on the claim up to the policy limit and the underinsured motorist coverage is used to pay for the amount of damages remaining (up to its policy limits).