KS auto insurance is governed by the “no fault” system and this makes financial responsibility work in a completely different way to equivalent Tort states. A KS auto insurance policy will cover the costs of personal injuries and property damage directly, irrespective of who caused the accident. Road users in Kansas are also responsible for purchasing uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.
The minimum KS auto insurance coverage requirements are listed as follows:
- $25,000 worth of bodily injury liability per person
- $50,000 worth of bodily injury liability per accident
- $10,000 worth of property damage liability
- $25,000 worth of uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per person
- $50,000 worth of uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per accident
In addition, personal injury protection must also be purchased. All Kansas road users are obliged to carry $4,500 of protection to cover the costs of medical treatment that may occur as a result of a road traffic accident. An additional $900 of KS auto insurance coverage is required for each month of a calendar year to cover disability and loss of income. This coverage also allows for $25 daily for ‘in-home’ services, $2,000 to cover any funeral costs and $4,500 for rehabilitation fees.
Driving without a valid KS auto insurance policy will result in financial penalties and the loss of driving privileges. There are no set penalties in place within Kansas so drivers who break the rules can find themselves punished severely for repeat offences. Proof of KS auto insurance coverage must be kept in the vehicle at all times.